top of page
Search
  • rebelsdomain

MS

What is the first thing you think of when you hear MS? The first thing you think when someone you know is diagnosed?


It's probably what I thought when they told me. Relapses and remissions. I had no idea that there were four different types of MS. I was ignorant to the complexities of it.


Different types of MS


1.Relapsing-Remitting MS (RRMS). This is the most common form of multiple sclerosis. About 85% of people with MS are initially diagnosed with RRMS. People with RRMS have temporary periods called relapses, flare-ups or exacerbations, when new symptoms appear.


2.Secondary-Progressive MS (SPMS). In SPMS, symptoms worsen more steadily over time, with or without the occurrence of relapses and remissions. Most people who are diagnosed with RRMS will transition to SPMS at some point.


3.Primary-Progressive MS (PPMS). This type of MS is not very common, occurring in about 10% of people with MS. PPMS is characterized by slowly worsening symptoms from the beginning, with no relapses or remissions. (That's me)


4.Progressive-Relapsing MS (PRMS). A rare form of MS (5%), PRMS is characterized by a steadily worsening disease state from the beginning, with acute relapses but no remissions, with or without recovery.


I had been struggling for many years with no-one knowing what was wrong with me but as soon as I found out it was primary progressive, everything started falling into place.


I think the worst thing has been the fatigue, although it did help to know what it is and not me going mad. It's not like 'normal’ fatigue or tiredness. It's a bone weary unable to function fatigue from doing very little or even nothing. My body just will not cooperate at all and I have to drag myself to bed to recover.


I have to use my mobility scooter more and more now because it's just beyond me to walk more than a few metres without collapsing.


It's something that people don't understand. I hear so many times, oh I know someone who has ms and she started taking this medication and it's really helped.

And several other such stories.


The type I have, ppms, has no medication for it as yet.

But people just don't understand. There's only relapses and remissions, right?

That's exactly what I thought too. It's hard to be proven wrong in such a way.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Burglar murder!

Reading a news article recently: https://www.itv.com/news/granada/2022-05-04/burglar-who-died-found-with-injuries-pathologist-had-never-seen-before https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.liverpoolecho.co.uk

Foolsball

Asked if I wasn't proud of my country as I really don't care about the foolsball, I respond: You're damn right I'm not proud of my country at the moment. A country whose 'leaders' are targeting the mo

Stop forcing veganism on me!

I respect the fact that you're vegan but stop forcing your beliefs on me. There's nothing more forceful than non-human exploitation! People who eat meat, eggs, dairy. Who wear leather, wool, fur etc f

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page