top of page
Search
  • rebelsdomain

Learning to adapt.

MS - it just keeps on giving doesn't it.

Giving new things to your body that means you have to learn to adapt, as much as you can.


Like learning that your long walks are a thing of the past. So you adapt and get a rollator, and then a scooter. You adapt so you can kind of still go for long walks. Not quite the same, but you have to adapt.


Like learning that you can't go out for the day unless you meticulously plan where every toilet is. You adapt by not eating while you are out. And only sipping drinks. It's not ideal, but you have to adapt.


Like learning that when your body is fatigued, the only thing you can do is sit down or you will and have fallen down. It's frustrating, but you learn to adapt.


Like learning that spending hours in the kitchen making and creating is no longer possible. So you buy ready prepared vegetables and time saving devices and realise that spending hours in the kitchen now gets very little done as you have to rest so often. Disappointing, but you learn to adapt.


Like learning that your joy of reading, inhaling books, has to change as you can no longer hold even a small book for long. So you start using your Kindle and buy a reading frame so you don't have to hold it. Really really not the same as the feel and smell of paper books is part of the joy. But you have to adapt.


The latest thing to learn is your feet suddenly spasm and drop causing you to trip and fall when you least expect it. Learning to adapt to that one is still in progress.


The hardest thing is learning that your life as you knew it: an active walker, a domestic goddess in the kitchen, a fully functioning person, is now no more.


I promised myself that this year I would stop focussing on the negatives and realise what I can do.


However, the worse I get and the more things I can't do, is getting harder to deal with and my mood is getting harder to keep upbeat.


I'm trying, oh I'm trying. But at the moment, ms is kicking my butt!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Burglar murder!

Reading a news article recently: https://www.itv.com/news/granada/2022-05-04/burglar-who-died-found-with-injuries-pathologist-had-never-seen-before https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.liverpoolecho.co.uk

Foolsball

Asked if I wasn't proud of my country as I really don't care about the foolsball, I respond: You're damn right I'm not proud of my country at the moment. A country whose 'leaders' are targeting the mo

Stop forcing veganism on me!

I respect the fact that you're vegan but stop forcing your beliefs on me. There's nothing more forceful than non-human exploitation! People who eat meat, eggs, dairy. Who wear leather, wool, fur etc f

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page