top of page
Search
  • rebelsdomain

The vegan journey

I turned vegan many months ago. Vegetarian before that.


It all started with a visit to my mum's friends sheep farm during lambing time.

I watched the sheep, their possessiveness over their tiny babies, the little lambs frolicking, their joy of being alive. And I sat in the middle of a big pen, surrounded by all these sheep and their babies, and I felt at peace. I sat there for probably over an hour, just watching them. And I suddenly thought to myself, how can anyone eat them? How can anyone take their life? And if I could never bring myself to do it, how can I expect someone else to do it just to satisfy my taste buds!

It was a light bulb moment.

I turned vegetarian. I had actually been vegetarian as a teenager but it was mostly a teenage thing, and didn't have any real thought behind it.


Then I started reading up and doing research into animal practices. And that was when I realised that the dairy and egg industries were even more abhorrent than the meat industry.


I became one of those vegans that I'd always read about with amusement thinking they were weirdos. My eyes were opened to the cruelty, and once your eyes are opened, it is very difficult to come to terms with the fact that the cruelty is happening, the animals lives are being taken needlessly, and you were once part of it.


I was one of those, I could never give up cheese or eggs, people. And became awakened.


The most frustrating part is trying to tell people the facts, trying to explain why I am vegan, and these are some of the responses:


Mmm bacon

Referring to killing animals as a 'personal choice’

Saying 'plants have feelings too’

Being asked where I get my protein

Lions eat meat, so we should too

Being told that for every animal I don't eat, they'll eat two or more

I only eat 'humanely’ killed animals


And various other uneducated, ignorant, mindless responses.


It's funny that people get so defensive about the fact that my food choices differ to theirs. Like they feel guilty or something.


I've been there. I chose to find out the truth and open my eyes.

Some people don't want to, or just don't care.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Burglar murder!

Reading a news article recently: https://www.itv.com/news/granada/2022-05-04/burglar-who-died-found-with-injuries-pathologist-had-never-seen-before https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.liverpoolecho.co.uk

Foolsball

Asked if I wasn't proud of my country as I really don't care about the foolsball, I respond: You're damn right I'm not proud of my country at the moment. A country whose 'leaders' are targeting the mo

Stop forcing veganism on me!

I respect the fact that you're vegan but stop forcing your beliefs on me. There's nothing more forceful than non-human exploitation! People who eat meat, eggs, dairy. Who wear leather, wool, fur etc f

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page